Recovery and Insolvency Specialists Association (BVI) Limited (RISA BVI) - British Virgin Islands

Recovery and Insolvency Specialists Association (BVI) Limited (RISA BVI) - British Virgin Islands
Recovery and Insolvency Specialists Association (BVI) Limited (RISA BVI) - British Virgin Islands

Chairperson of RISA BVI: Sharon Mungall E: sharon.mungall@careyolsen.com Directors of RISA BVI: Secretary: Claire Goldstein E: claire.goldstein@harneys.com Brian Lacy E: brian.lacy@ogier.com Roy Bailey E: roy.bailey1@vg.ey.com Treasurer: Nathan Mills E: nmills@RHRestructuring.com Hadley Chilton E: Hadley.Chilton@ffp.vg Colin Wilson E: cmw@borrelliwalsh.com RISA was established in 2009 to promote and support the development of the insolvency and restructuring industry in the BVI. It is an active association which supports the industry through a regular program of technical and social events and by its focus on legislative development in the BVI. It now has over 160 members. As a major international financial centre with in excess of 400,000 active registered companies as well as being one of the world’s largest fund domiciles, the BVI is a prominent jurisdiction in terms of insolvency and restructuring work. BVI companies are frequently found in complex, international financing and group structures. Its insolvency practitioners and attorneys work closely alongside others all over the world. All insolvency appointments in the BVI require licensed insolvency practitioners who act with local knowledge, but are also experts in understanding international nuances. Underpinning such appointments is the BVI Insolvency Act 2003 which is modern, fit for purpose and supported by a strong Commercial Court. The three classes of RISA membership are General, Associate and Student. To be eligible for general membership you must be resident in the BVI and be a current member of a relevant professional body. Associate membership is available to those who are not eligible for general membership and includes professionals who are resident overseas but are frequently engaged in BVI insolvency related matters. The BVI attracts a large number of visiting leading counsel from the UK and its IPs often work jointly with insolvency specialists in other jurisdictions. These individuals are encouraged to become members of RISA and to participate in technical events.